Books I Didn’t Love From Summer 2016

After reading more than 20 books this summer, there were bound to be a few that I didn’t enjoy. Here are the books that I really wasn’t into:

Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari. 

I don’t know if it’s because I’ve been in a relationship for around 4 years so I couldn’t relate to this book or not, but I couldn’t even finish it. I never give up on books halfway through, but I really couldn’t make myself read this book to its entirety. While the idea of this book is great and probably helpful to many people, I just found it very analytical and boring. I know lots of people enjoyed this read, but for me it was a no-go. It did have some humour and funny stories and I was able to read the book as if Aziz was narrating it, but I felt like I was reading a scholarly paper instead of a book by a comedian. Also, I’m currently not dating around, so I didn’t care all that much for the advice and facts he was giving; perhaps if I was single I would have appreciated it more.

modern-romance

The Emperors Children by Claire Messud

This was probably one of the worst books I’ve ever read. It has the title of a national best seller and was given a stellar review by the New York Times, in addition to appearing on many ‘Books You Have To Read Before You’re 30’ lists, and I have no idea why. It’s almost 500 pages long, and I stuck it out until the end, but I was so happy to return this to the library. While Messud is a good author, this book was so overly wordy and unnecessarily descriptive that it was difficult to read. Things didn’t pick up until around 200 pages in, and the most interesting thing that happened in the book was a highly inappropriate affair (I won’t spoil anything) that didn’t really lead to anything or have a climactic ending. 10/10 would not recommend.

51w1ajo2hpl

L’Affaire by Diane Johnson

I am ashamed to admit that this is another book that I returned to the library without finishing. This book had a very slow start and, like The Emperor’s Children, was overly descriptive, so it was difficult to follow the story line without getting confused by the filler adjectives. I thought I would enjoy this because it’s about an American woman who is traveling in Paris, but I just couldn’t get into this book.

l'affaire.jpg

#Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso

I really don’t want to bash this book because it seems like every girl and their mother are obsessed with it, but it was just a meh for me. Maybe it’s because I’m not much of an entrepreneur, but I felt myself just reading this book to get it over with. I did enjoy hearing about Amoruso’s life and it was inspiring how she went from rags to riches, but I wasn’t inspired overall. To me, the things in this book were common sense and I didn’t need  book to tell me. I think I set my standards high for this book because it was so hyped up, and it didn’t live up to its expectations. The only bonus was that it was short and there were lots of illustrations, which made reading it go by quicker.

booclub-girlboss-1387

My strategy for choosing books for my next library haul will be to not only look at recommendation lists, but to cross-check them with reviews on Goodreads. That’s all for now! xx

Leave a Reply

