Fall Book/Miscellaneous Haul

Hello lovelies! Hope your week is going well so far. I thought I would do a fall haul of books/misc. items I’ve purchased recently. Stay tuned for a possible book review; if you’ve read any of these books, I’d also love to hear your thoughts 🙂

img_9484

The books: 

Wild by Cheryl Strayed. I want to read this before I watch the movie, and it’s definitely keeping my wanderlust fuelled.

The Dud Avocado by Elaine Dundy. I’ve seen this book as a recommendation many times on those lists of ‘books you should read before you’re 30’, as well as on my Amazon recommendation list. This book ‘follows the romantic and comedic adventures of a young American who heads overseas to conquer Paris in the late 1950s’- I’m really excited to read this one!

Let it Snow by John Green et. al. This book is Christmas themed with short stories in a true John Green fashion. Can’t wait to curl up with this book and a cup of tea once it starts getting cold out.

My True Love Gave to Me by Holly Black et. al. This is another short story collection in a Christmas theme- I’ll be saving this for November.

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. This book is roughly 800 pages and I got it as a hand-me-down from my Mom, to nurture my cultural literary needs that have been lacking since graduation (who would’ve thought that I would actually miss those tedious assigned readings in English courses?!).

A Paris Apartment by Michelle Gable. Have you ever been so immersed in a book as you were casually browsing a bookstore, carried said book around for the next 20 minutes with no intentions of buying it, but can’t seem to set it down so you buy it in the end? That’s what happened with this book. A woman from America is sent to Paris to live in an apartment for a work trip, and the story unravels from there. This book was only $7, which is pretty cheap, and if you ever ask me if you should buy a book or not, the answer will always be yes.

img_9485The movies:

Vicky Cristina Barcelona. This is literally my absolute most favourite movie of all time. I can (and have) watched this movie in its entirety back to back. I really don’t need to say more than: Scarlett Johansson, Penelope Cruz, and Javier Bardem.

Under the Tuscan Sun. I haven’t watched this yet, but I’ve heard it’s amazing so I can’t wait to watch it. I’m a chronic movie rewatcher and like 99% of the movies I’ve seen, so I know this will be added to my roster of go-to’s.

Eat Pray Love. I read the book and I haven’t seen the movie yet, but since it’s not on Netflix and I found it for cheap on Amazon, I decided to order it. Also: Javier Bardem (!!!).

Hocus Pocus. It’s a classic Halloween movie, and I was surprised I didn’t own it since it’s one of my favourites. The only movie where I like SJP as much as I do in SATC.

img_9488The Miscellaneous:

Lush soap, lavender and chai tea, pumpkin chai tea from David’s tea, an Emily Carr artwork replica piece, and a pumpkin cupcake candle- all set for fall.

Do you have any book, movie or misc. recommendations? Let me know and hope you enjoyed! xx

Leave a Reply

