Weekend Recap: September 17 & 18, 2016

 

This weekend was one I would like to remember. On Saturday, my boyfriend and I went to Hatley Castle to explore. We weren’t allowed inside because a movie is actually being filmed at the moment (it’s called ‘The Liar’- has anyone heard about this?), but the grounds and architecture are spectacular. I fear that if I go to Europe, I would hardly get anything done because I am just so enthralled by castles and old architecture. After that, we headed to Emily Carr’s house, which was also an amazing thing to see. We went for lunch at the Fisherman’s Wharf and had chowder and oyster tacos at a local food truck. Following lunch, we went to the mall and ran some errands, then for dinner we went to a super authentic Mexican restaurant. I’m so happy that now, when my boyfriend is speaking to other native Spanish speakers, I no longer have to have a blank look on my face and smile and nod until they address me in English; I am able to understand what is being said and communicate back in (poorly accented) Spanish!

On Sunday, I went for brunch and caught up with a good friend of mine from high school and had a super delicious eggs benedict with smoked salmon- it was awesome to see her and we chatted away until after the place had closed down. After brunch, my boyfriend and I drove along a coastal highway and pulled over to admire a rainbow on the beach. We went for dinner (my treat :)) at my favourite restaurant in town, and I had an almond milk chai tea latte, a berry, brie cheese, onion and smoked salmon pizza, kale caesar salad (no bacon), and for dessert we split an earl grey cake. After dinner, we went for a walk around his neighbourhood then came home and snuggled up with Netflix.

I know most of the things mentioned here revolve around food, but it’s just what I was able to photograph and I’m also a major foodie! Hope you also had an incredible weekend and your Monday is going well! xx

One thought on “Weekend Recap: September 17 & 18, 2016

Leave a Reply

