Sephora Haul

Hello lovelies! Yesterday I went to a local Sephora and spent a few hours attempting to find the perfect lip shades I was looking for. I actually did a lot of online research (thank you Temptalia and Sephora.com) so I made a list of shades I was excited to swatch… more than 50 of them. I also got help with contouring from the girls working, and got my shade IQ, which will be very helpful when ordering things online. I’ve always wondered about my undertones (do I have cool or warm tones? How about my lips?), but I was happy to come to a conclusion: I am light/medium with neutral/slight yellow undertones and just really pigmented lips; this is super helpful for me since I do order online more than going in store. I have to admit, I was very overwhelmed once I started swatching because  so many of the shades from different brands looked exactly the same (abet slightly different undertones). After a while, I threw in the towel when I found two that I enjoy and weren’t close in shade to any of the lip products I already own. Eventually, my arm irritated from the constant rubbing alcohol used to clean off the swatches, I got in line to purchase my items.

Side note: until the 17th, VIBs etc. get up to 4X the points, and if you’re a VIB Rouge, Sephora gives you a complimentary little goodie bag as well. 

sample-bag

Serpentina by Kat Von D. I’m excited to play around with these colourful shades, since currently the only eyeshadow palletes I have are the Naked2 and Sephora’s ‘in the tropics’ (which isn’t very good in my opinion).

serpentinaLos Cabo Bronzer Powder by Sephora – ‘matte universal tan’. I was actually planning on purchasing Too Face’s Chocolate Soleil bronzer, but after swatching it, it turned a little orange on me, so I’m happy I didn’t order it online. This bronzer does smell a bit weird, but so far it is pigmented, buildable and definitely does not turn me orange. Since it is buildable, I opted out of buying a contour kit because this bronzer can be used for an everyday quick sweep to give a nice glow, or builded up to contour.  And it’s only $20, so you can’t really beat that.

—- edit—-  I went back to Sephora and returned this after I read the ingredients and found that talc was the first ingredient. I replaced this bronzer with Sunset by Cover Fx, and I’m so happy I did. Cover Fx is an awesome brand! Sunset is vegan, as well as talc, paraben, fragrance, gluten, and mineral free.

 

Bright Set Pressed Finishing Powder by Sephora. This is only offered in the shade ‘banana’, which I’ve read can be unflattering depending on your skin tone. Since I’m half Asian and have some yellow undertones, when I swatched this, it was a perfect brightening powder for me. This sort of completed my ‘DIY’ contour kit, as it was the only thing I was missing. I’m actually super impressed with Sephora’s revamp for their brand- cheap, great quality, no parabens and they don’t test on animals.

banana powder.jpg

Matte Creme Lip Crayon in Aubergine by Bite Beauty. This is an ‘eggplant’ pigmented lip crayon. I don’t think the photo or description really does this justice. It’s a beautiful red-toned berry. I thought at first it might be similar to Hangry by tarte, which I already have, but I really love how this is more of a red berry than a plum shade of berry. The swatch on Temptalia is more true to its colour than the description and swatch in the photo below by Sephora -something to watch out for!

bite

Liquid Lipstick in Dolce by Anastasia Beverly Hills. Oh my goodness. There has been so much hype around this line, and it’s for good reason. I swatched almost all of the shades, and the formula is incredible. I opted for ‘Dolce’, which is a ‘muted coral’, because it turned up as a nice peachy-pink on me and it is unlike anything else I currently have. I can’t wait to get my hands on ‘Pure Hollywood’ as well, but currently it is sold out online and in stores. These *might* be my new favourite liquid lipsticks (sorry KVD!).

dolce

Leave a Reply

