Ride or Die Makeup Tag

This tag was started by Jaclyn Hill and it’s simple: you choose one product and one product only for each category- your ultimate favourite- el major.

Disclaimer: Other than Burt’s Bees and NYX, I only use high end products for a few reasons: 1) brands like Cover Girl, Maybelline etc. tend to rest on animals, and I am very adamant about purchasing only cruelty-free products 2) drug store brands also tend to contain more ‘harmful’ ingredients, and I like to try my best to purchase natural(ish) products 3) for me, the price is actually worth it because I only buy 1-2 items for each use (for example, I only have one foundation, no duplicate lip colours, wait until I finish a product before trying a different one etc.), so I am always able to get full use out of the product. Most high end products last at least 8 months for me before they run out, so IN MY PERSONAL OPINION, a $12 versus $23 mascara is worth the extra money if it is cruelty free etc. and I will get my full use out of it 🙂 Sorry if this isn’t helpful for any readers trying to find inspiration for drugstore products! They’re just my personal favourites; stay tuned for my favourites under $10!

 

Primer: tarte’s Clean State Flawless 12-Hr Brightening Primer. I was using a Laura Mercier one before, but this sold me because it’s free of parabens, sulfates, synthetic fragrances, petrochemicals, phthalates, GMOs and triclosan. It really helps mattify your face and has a smooth and easy application.

Foundation: tarte’s Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation. Can’t even count how many times I’ve repurchased this. I use this for special events and nights out. For everyday, I use NARS Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer.

Concealer: MUFE Full Cover Concealer

Face Powder: bareMinerals Mineral Veil

Under Eye Setting Powder: I don’t set my eye with a different powder (*basic*), so I’ll include my brightening under-eye concealer: NARS Radiant Creamy Concealer

Blush: NARS Goulue. I received this in my VIB Rouge welcome kit and I’m not sure if it’s even available, but it’s a pretty burnt rose colour. Runners up: NARS The Multiple in Orgasm (super awesome for blending and contouring and really nice in the summer when you tend to sweat) and Benefit’s Dandelion.

Bronzer: tarte’s Amazonian Clay Matte Waterproof Bronzer. I’ve had this for more than 2 years, hit pan about a year ago, and just THIS WEEK I finally wore it down to it’s end.

Highlight: BECCA X Jaclyn Hill Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed in Champagne Pop (what else?).

Mascara: tarte’s Lights, Camera, Splashes Waterproof Mascara. I have to exclusively use waterproof mascara because I rub my eyes and they run, and this mascara is the best!

Lipstick: Colour- MUFE Rouge Artist Natural Lipstick in 9N because it’s essentially the same as my natural lip colour. Formula- NARS Audacious Lipsticks. I have Leslie.

Liquid Lip: Kat Von D’s Everlasting Liquid Lipstick. I have Lolita, Lolita 2 and Bow N Arrow, but my favourite shade would have to be Bow N Arrow; the formula for the line is amazing.

Lip Gloss: Buxom’s Full-On Lip Cream in Berry Blast.

Lashes: I don’t wear fake lashes.

Eyeshadow Palette: Urban Decay’s Naked2.

Setting Spray: Urban Decay’s All Night Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray

Perfume: Hypnotic Poison by Dior. “Mysterious and mesmerizing, extravagant and bewitching, Hypnotic Poison is a magic potion for modern times. Audacious and profoundly feminine, the fragrance is an unsettling harmony, a fusion of contrasting olfactory facets. Notes: Bitter Almond, Caraway Spice, Sambac Jasmine, Cinnamon, Tuberose, Vanilla, Musk, Mosses, Jucarunda Wood.”

Leave a Reply

