Crazy About: Lipstick

I only recently got into makeup in the past few years after being introduced to Sephora. I try my very very best to purchase exclusively cruelty free, natural and vegan products as well. Here is my current lipstick collection- I’m planning on stopping by Sephora to do a massive swatch spree/haul soon, so I thought I would update on what I have so far. I’m really into mauve/nudes lately, so I’m excited to add more to my collection and try out some different looks for fall!

Nile Nude by Burt’s Bees. A satin finish nude lipstick. Super hydrating. I really like using Burt’s Bees products because they aren’t tested on animals, and do not contain sulfates, parabens, phthalates or petrochemicals. This lipstick is a great nude for any skin tone, and because it’s buildable, it doesn’t wash me out. It’s also super easy to apply (even without a mirror!) and because it is so hydrating, you don’t need to moisturize your lips beforehand, and it won’t break if you throw it in your purse for the day. I had some trouble finding it because I didn’t want to order it online, but I was able to pick one up from Shoppers Drug Mart after asking an employee where they were (right beside the pharmacy and not with the other makeup for some reason).  For only $10, you get so much product and it’s really a steal.

nile-nude

 

Bow N Arrow by Kat Von D. A ‘fawn nude’ matte liquid lipstick. This is supposed to be a dupe for Kylie Jenner’s ‘Dolce K’. I find that the KVD liquid lipsticks can be a bit drying so I always moisturize my lips beforehand. Super easy to apply, long wearing, doesn’t bleed, very pigmented, not tested on animals AND vegan = A+ in my books.

bow-n-arrow

N9 by Make Up Forever. A ‘copper pink’ satin lipstick. I believe I received this as a Sephora birthday gift one year. This is my go-to lipstick when I’m in a rush because it’s basically my natural lip colour so it gives my lips a little pop of sheen. The formula is really  wonderful and for a mini deluxe sample, you get a lot of product.

9n

Rikugien by NARS. A ‘rose pink’ satin finish lip pencil. I received this, along with Cruella, as a birthday gift one year from Sephora. I liked Rikugien so much that I went out and bought the full sized lip pencil. It’s almost the same colour as 9N but more sheer and has a hint of sparkle.

rikugien

Kiss Kiss Bang Bang (216) by Marc Jacobs. A ‘baked rose’ satin finish lipstick. This is a really pretty bright raspberry colour. Super pigmented and the formula is a bit heavier than the 9N lipstick. I also received this as a birthday gift from Sephora!

kiss-kiss-bang-bang

Electric Pink Matte by Smashbox. From the ‘be legendary’ line, a ‘coral pink’ matte lipstick. This actually has broke on me twice, so although it is very pigmented and I like the colour, I won’t be repurchasing from this line.

electric pink matte.jpg

Lolita and Lolita 2 by Kat Von D. Matte liquid lipsticks, Lolita is a ‘chestnut rose’ and Lolita 2 is a ‘terra cotta nude’ . I was surprised how dark Lolita turned up on my lips because it’s supposed to be a dupe for Kyle Jenner’s ‘Dolce K’ (even though Bow N Arrow is  supposed to be one as well?). If I’m not careful, it appears pretty dark on me and I look like a vampire haha. Lolita 2 turns up as a dusty burnt sienna/red on my lips, which I enjoy. It’s fascinating to me just how different each lipstick can look on different people- even with the same skin tone- due to undertones and the formula of the makeup! Anyways, these two are my favourite liquid lipsticks.

lolitas.png

Hangry by Tarte. A matte berry. I received this in a 500 point perk from Sephora. It came with the corresponding lip liner in ‘Mood Ring’ but the lip liner broke as soon as I opened it. I’ve only used Hangry once or twice, and it seemed a tad drying, but other than that, a really pretty fall and winter shade.

hangry.jpg

Cruella by NARS. A matte scarlet red. A bright red, I also received this as a birthday gift from Sephora. I really love this colour, however, it is SUPER SUPER PRONE to getting stuck on your teeth! I’ve embarrassed myself more than once with this lip pencil sticking to my teeth.

cruella.jpg

Gazpacho by Bite. A ‘true blue-red’ with a satin finish, from the Amuse Bouche line. Just got this as a 100 point perk. More updates to follow.

bite-amuse-bouche-lipstick-gazpacho-swatches-review.jpg

Leslie by NARS. A satin ‘cherrywood’. This is probably my favourite formula of a lipstick ever. From the audacious line by NARS, Leslie is a really beautiful shade. The formula is just amazing. It glides on, is hydrating but not sticky or clumpy, is pigmented, and very long lasting. I’m definitely not mad about spending ~$40 on this lipstick, because I know I’ll get my money’s worth X10. I’ve also thrown this in my bag many times during a night out, and it hasn’t broken (looking at you, Smashbox).

brown-hue-nars-audacious-leslie

Peach Cobbler by NYX. A red-orange gloss. NYX is what it is: affordable, super pigmented, and sometimes sticky/clumpy. I don’t reach for this as much as I could, but I’m more of a lipstick than a lipgloss girl. That being said, this is a nice pop of colour and really pigmented.

peach cobbler.jpg

Berry Blast by Buxom. One of their ‘full-on lip creams in vivid fuchsia’. Pretty pigmented and it smells really yummy too.

berry-blast

Erin by Buxom. A ‘full-on lip polish in blushing lavender’. This also smells good, is pigmented and it makes your lips tingly.

erin

And finally, the only lipliners I own (oops)

8C Red by Make Up Forever- A ‘true red’ matte lipliner. All I can say is that I should probably invest in more lipliner.

makeupforever

Latergram by Tarte. A matte finish mauve. Received this as a deluxe sample.

tarteist-lip-liner-in-latergram.jpg

One thought on “Crazy About: Lipstick

Leave a Reply

